A new year

Well, I’m a day late but the new year is here already.  It’s going to be my last year at home with the kids and I intend to use it well.  I have a friend with a blog who posted her “intentions” for the new year.  I like that idea as my “resolutions” never really get resolved!  So, what are my intentions for this, my year of leisure?  Let’s see. . .

1.  Finish unfinished projects.  I have many, many of these around the house, too many to list here.  But I’ll keep you updated when I do finish one, as well as a guess as to how long it’s been languishing in the back of a closet!

2.  Learn to take good photographs.  Striving for good here, not great, though a few great ones would be awesome.  Got a new Canon Rebel T2i for Christmas (thanks hubby!) that I have not the foggiest clue how to use.  I’ve always loved photography, but never had anything other than a little point and shoot camera.  I would love to be able to take beautiful nature photos!

3.  Eat more vegetables.  I’m sure lots of you have this on your list, but I’m serious.  We’re a member of a farm co-op up here and they do a really good job of giving us a variety of veggies.  I don’t do a very good job of eating them.  I have learned to eat new veggies in the last couple of years.  Prior to moving up here, I was a green bean kind of girl.  Green beans, carrots, salad, and potatoes.  That was about the extent of my vegetable eating.  That goes for my family as well, they need to eat more veggies, too.

4.  Learn a new craft.  I’m thinking rug hooking.  My grandfather hooked rugs, and I’d love to learn how.

5.  Get organized.  Another one I’m sure is on plenty of lists.  I used to be organized, my friends in school would laugh at my color coded system.  Somehow that all got lost after the first baby was born. . .

6.  Catalog the 45s.  This goes along with the prior “get organized”, but I think it deserves it’s own intention.  We have a jukebox that plays 45s.  We have lots of 45s.  I have no idea what.  Time to catalog all the 45s so I know where my collection is lacking.

7.  Be more present.  I’m easily distracted, whether talking on the phone to a friend or with the children.  Being more mindful of what’s going on and more present in the conversation will make me a better person.

8.  Get in shape.  Notice I didn’t say lose weight, although who couldn’t stand to lose a few pounds.  In the fall, I participated in a program at our YMCA that included nutrition seminars and hours with a personal trainer.  The nutrition seminars were tough, 8am on a Saturday morning during soccer season.  The personal training sessions, on the other hand, were fantastic.  I learned a lot of new exercises, plenty that I could do without having to go to the gym. Hadn’t really done any strength training before and I really think that makes a difference.  I’ve since fallen off the wagon, so back on tomorrow morning!

9.  Do more yoga.  Enough said.

10.  Explore more possibilities.  I want to leave this as a more open-ended intention to cover all those things I hope to uncover in the coming year!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beverly
    Jan 02, 2011 @ 23:39:59

    Welcome to the blogosphere!

    Reply

  2. Cindy
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 11:12:26

    Hooray Katie! I love this pink background.
    I forget what the heck you did for work before children.
    This is a great idea to help you squeeze the most out of your last year at home. I really like it!

    Reply

  3. Cindy
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 11:13:45

    You must categorize your posts. Avoid Uncategorized at all costs. Pet peev of mine. Did I spell peev correctly?

    Reply

    • ktbird8
      Jan 03, 2011 @ 13:30:46

      Ok, just saw how to do that. Will have to figure out what categories I need to use. Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated as I know your blog is awesome!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,044 hits
