Ten on Tuesday

I must admit, one of the reasons I finally decided to join the blogosphere was a list that my friend Beverly always has on her blog.  I love reading her list, look forward to it each week (though I now pledge not to read hers until mine is posted!).  It’s a title sent out by Carole of Carole Knits of 10 things. Now, I’m a sucker for lists, always have a to do list going, list of books I want to read, grocery list, songs to download, you get the idea.  Perhaps I’ll share one of those lists one day, but for today, it’s Ten on Tuesday!

Today’s topic:  Ten Things You Wouldn’t Want to Live Without.

1.  Music – I love it!  Everything from The Eagles to Lady Gaga.  My collection is quite varied, though it does tend toward rock/pop.  Most recently, it’s been all about Mumford & Sons.

2.  My iPod – Not only does it play my favorite music, it has come in very handy while waiting at the doctor’s office.  I have a couple of apps on there for the kids which they get to play anytime I really need them to behave in a non-kid friendly setting, doctors’ offices, yarn stores, etc.

3.  A stereo in every room – Every room in our house has some sort of musical connection (see a theme here?).  Most rooms have an actual stereo of some sort, but we also have an intercom system that plays the radio in every room.  Not great sound quality, but works when I need it.  I would love to upgrade all the stereos to something that can connect to my iPod, or even a Bose or two!

4.  Pumpkin Pie Spice – It comes in so handy!  I use it to make my favorite breakfast, Pumpkin Oatmeal (1 serving oatmeal, 3 T canned pumpkin, 1 t Pumpkin Pie spice, 1 T real maple syrup).  Yum-O!

5.  Fresh baked bread – There’s nothing like the smell of bread baking in the oven.  The wait for it to cool is miserable, but oh so worth it.

6.  Books – I’ve always been a bookworm.  Lately, my reading seems to come more in spurts, but there’s nothing quite like curling up with a good book.  And it’s absolutely wonderful to watch my son as he falls in love with reading and books as well.

7.  My knitting – This one is all-inclusive of whatever project I’m currently working on.  Needles, yarn, notions, all of it. Today’s project is still a baby blanket.  Next up, a sailor shirt for my son’s sock monkey, he got pants for Christmas.

8.  A car – I like to be able to get out and go.  Just the thought of a snowstorm that’s going to keep me homebound is enough to make me fidgety.  I’ve only been without a car once, on our honeymoon in the Turks and Caicos.  That was easy enough, a bike got you around the island, but for real-life living, I need a car.

9.  My Mac – As much as I’ve been complaining about financial software on the Mac lately, I don’t know if I could even do without it for a week.  Let’s not find out!

10.  My down-filled coats – Maybe it’s just that it’s so cold today, but I hate the cold!  I bought a down jacket from LLBean when we first moved up here and I don’t think I could make it through the winter without it.  My husband just bought me a full-length down coat from Eddie Bauer, it’s the best for when I’ll be standing outside, soccer games, parades, whenever.  And yes, they both come out as soon as the temperature dips below 40!

So, that’s my first Ten on Tuesday list.  Hope it was worth reading and makes you think of those things you can’t do without!  As I try to pare down my belongings this year, I assure you these won’t be going anywhere!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beverly
    Jan 04, 2011 @ 11:46:49

    Welcome to ToT! Great list!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,082 hits
