Ten on Tuesday

Well, I got off to a rolling start and then life happened last week.  Haven’t had time to sit and think about anything lately, let alone try new things.  We’ve decided to refi the house, and thus a million little unfinished projects had to get finished this past week.  New doors on a closet, painted the attic door, still more stuff to do, but I’m taking a break!

This week’s Ten on Tuesday is Ten Ways to be More Organized.  Now, for anyone who knows me, you know I’m not very organized.  But, if you knew me in my younger years, you would have thought I was an organizational addict. Everything from alphabetized tapes (prior to the CD years) to color-coded notes in class.  Don’t know when I lost the organizational bug, but it’s gone!  I still WANT to be organized, just don’t have time to deal with it.  In theory, being more organized should free you up for other things, thus making more time available to you.  It’s a vicious cycle, I’ve got to learn to break it.  Maybe, if I can come up with 10 things, I just might actually take my own advice and get organized in this new year.

1.  Use the alphabet.  In high school, all my tapes were organized alphabetically.  Today, it’s my CDs (that, I have actually been able to hang on to!).  But you can use this anywhere, take out menus, DVDs, books, whatever you have a large collection of, try sorting alphabetically.

2.  Color-code.  I no longer use colored pens to make my life simpler, but I did at one point adopt a color folder system. Three folders, one red, one yellow, one green.  Red, things you need to deal with immediately, yellow, things that need to be dealt with but not immediately, and green, things to file.

3.  Shred.  Put your shredder to work.  We all have too many papers lying around.  Recycle what you can, shred anything with personal information on it.

4.  1 in 1 out rule.  For everything you bring into the house, one must be given up.  This works great for clothes!  I’m really trying to put this in to practice.

5.  Have only 1 piece of reading material in your bedroom.  This keeps the clutter down in the space that is supposed to be your end-of-the-day haven.

6.  A place for everything and everything in it’s place.  Everything should have a home.  If it doesn’t, find one or get rid of it.

7.  Date your pantry.  Anytime we open something new in our pantry, we write the date on the box or bottle.  This started out in our spice cabinet and has worked it’s way into my makeup drawer.  Great way to know when the oregano is past its prime, or your mascara has seen better days.

8.  Use it or lose it.  Picked this up off of some organizing website way back when.  You know how you have a ton of stuff lying around that you don’t use?  Some of it may be wedding presents, stuff you bought that you thought you needed, but really didn’t, the list goes on and on.  Well, regardless of what it is, if you don’t use it, you don’t need it.

9.  Make note of what you have.  For me, I have 2 lists.  Both of collectibles.  But that way, if I’m out and see a doll or record I want, I can check the list to see if I already own it.  No need having duplicates!

10.  Just do it.  Stop putting it off and just do it.  Start small, one stack of papers at a time.  Every great journey begins with a single step, right?

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,082 hits
