A Clean House

This past week found me cleaning my house and trying to finish unfinished home improvement projects.  We decided to refinance the house and had to have an appraisal.  While it will be interesting to know what he thinks the house is worth, for the 4 minutes he actually spent inside my house, I doubt that I needed to go to that much trouble! Fortunately, I do enjoy a good clean house and it hasn’t been this clean in quite some time.  I know that it will only take another day or two before it returns to its former cluttered self, but I’m going to try to stay on top of it this time.

And since I was in the organizing mood this week, I decided to try to plan some meals ahead of time instead of 20 minutes before putting it on the table.  I found 3 new recipes to try, purchased all the ingredients before the big snowstorm hit on Wednesday and we’ve had two of them so far.  The first was a Zesty Ginger-Tomato Chicken.  Cooked this one in the crock pot, man how I love a crock pot!  Load it up in the morning, watch the snow fall all day, before you know it, dinner’s done!  And it was good!  Probably would have had more flavor if I had used fresh ginger, but it was still very good.  Served it over brown rice, but would have been equally good on quinoa or couscous.

The second recipe was a Lemon Chicken Stir-Fry that we ate tonight.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that at least one of our kids enjoyed the meal.  Our children are horribly picky eaters and I’ve resolved to stop playing the short-order cook at dinner time.  By the same token, I want to eat more healthy, which is a problem for the kids.  So tonight’s recipe is getting an extra star for being enjoyed by 75% of the family, and consisting of 75% vegetables!

My attic sewing room also got some attention today.  My last project found me hunting for needed notions, so this afternoon I got my main work surface, my cutting table, cleared off.  It took quite some time, but I wanted to make sure that I got everything put in its proper spot.  Tomorrow’s project, the yarn closet!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,044 hits
