Soup

Since moving to New England almost 4 years ago, I’ve found that I eat more soup.  I never liked soup before, with the exception of perhaps a good chowder or bisque, apparently I have a thing for cream!  So for Christmas, my sister gave me the New England Soup Factory Cookbook.  I haven’t explored all of the yumminess that it contains just yet.  Hoping to settle down on Friday and peruse it at my leisure, probably not going to happen since we are expecting another snowstorm and the kids will in all likelihood be home all day, but one can dream!

In the meantime, I came across an interesting looking recipe at bhg.com.  Creamy Tomato and Shrimp Chowder.  I had an abundance of shrimp in the freezer thanks to one of Big Y‘s buy 1 get 2 sales, so a good shrimp chowder sounded like just the thing.  One problem, my husband doesn’t like tomatoes.  So, just like when I need to hide veggies from the kids, I pulled out the stick blender.  It was super easy to make, quick, simple.  After I got all the ingredients except the shrimp combined in the pot, I blended it all up so there wouldn’t be any chunks of tomatoes.  And, for some reason, I feel like chowder should have corn in it, so I added a small can of corn with the shrimp.  It was delightful!  Served with a hunk of french bread and dinner was done!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. lane
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 21:44:36

    Sounds yummy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,016 hits
