Snow day craft

Colored Ice

By my count, it’s a whopping 18 degrees outside.  Perfect for a Snow Day craft!  The kids are home, probably for a day or two from what I’m hearing from the weatherman.  While they are watching The Big Aquarium, thanks to the public library, I’ll tell you about our craft for the day.

I wish I could remember where I read about this fun-sounding craft.  Probably Family Fun if I had to guess, but I really can’t remember.  I read a lot of magazines and websites, so it’s no telling where I first read about it!  It’s a suncatcher for the winter time, made out of ice and food coloring.  Found it!  It is from Family Fun with a link here. But here’s how we’re doing it.

Here’s what you do:

  • Fill some ice cubes about 1/2 way or so with water.  I varied how much I filled them to see what difference it would make in the final product.
  • Next, put one drop of food coloring in each ice cube well.  You may need to stir it around with a toothpick to make sure it mixes well.  Freeze.  We’re doing this on our front porch since it’s so cold!
  • When the ice cubes are all frozen, take them out of the trays and put in a round cake pan.  Any size will work, as will any shape for a variety of suncatchers.
  • Fill the cake pan about 1/2 way with cold water and freeze.  Some of the colors may melt and run with the addition of the cold water, but that’s what’s going to make it so pretty!
  • If you want to hang these from a tree, you will want to put a small glass or something about an inch from the top to leave a hole through which you can tie a string.  If you want to just put them out in the pretty white snow, you won’t need to worry about the hole!  I’m thinking about setting ours up in the snow or letting the kids build a snow fort and using them as “stained glass windows”.

I can hardly wait for the ice cubes to freeze.  I’ll post a picture tomorrow to let you know how they came out!  Happy snow day!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Beverly
    Feb 01, 2011 @ 11:34:36

    This sounds like an adorable project!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,016 hits
