10 Awesome Things About the Harry Potter Books

Ok, so it’s been a while since I last blogged.  A long while.  Every time I try to get into a habit, my life happens.  Kids, parents, dogs, it’s always something!  However, today’s Ten on Tuesday has inspired me to try to get back into it.  With the release of the last movie this weekend, we’ve been talking about Harry a lot around here.  My husband and I can’t wait to see the movie, though we won’t go for a week or two, let the crowds calm down, plus that should give us time to find a babysitter so we don’t have to tag team this one like we did the last.  So, without further ado, 10 Awesome Things about Harry Potter:

1.  They got people reading again.  Notice I said people, not just kids, though getting kids to read was an accomplishment in and of itself.

2.  They got people talking.  All of a sudden, people were talking about the HP series all over the place.  If you saw someone reading the book, it was ok to ask how they liked it and what part they were on.  In the age of Facebook, Twitter, and texting, anything that gets people to converse face to face is a bonus in my book!

3.  They kept me entertained while I was on bedrest.  I discovered the HP series while on bedrest while pregnant with my first child.  I had exhausted every show on the Discovery Channel, Animal Planet, and History, and I don’t even like history!  After watching a couple of Braves games multiple times, decided it was time to turn the TV off and read.  At the suggestion of a friend, I picked up The Sorcerer’s Stone and soon had my mom running to Barnes & Noble for more!

4.  They made it cool to be a smart girl.  Go Hermione!

5.  They presented a brand new world to inspire us.  Who wouldn’t want to go to school at Hogwarts?

6.  And they inspired a new theme park.  That I can’t wait to visit.  With the kids.  Probably going to have to wait a few more years until they are old enough to read the books, I’m guessing they are a little much for a 5 year old!

7.  They opened a dialog between parents and their pre-teens/teens.  Like I said before, everyone was reading them and this gave parents an opening with otherwise silent kids.

8.  They inspired 7 wonderfully made movies.  While most movies made from books leave the reader disappointed, these can stand all on their own.  While I’ve read all the books and seen all the movies, my husband has never read the books but saw the movies.  He’s loved them!  They may be the only movies I can honestly say did a good job of presenting the books in their entirety.  The Harry Potter films and the Lord of the Rings series.  That’s it.

9.  They are a fast read.  Even after my first child was born, I was able to keep up with the new releases.  They didn’t take a ton of brainpower on my part and I could fly through the books so that I wasn’t neglecting my family.  Well, at least not for too long!

10.  I just love them!  I’ve actually read them more than once, and I never do that!

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,082 hits
