Ten on Tuesday – Beach Music

Oh, what a wonderful topic was picked this week!  I love beach music!  Not music you want to listen to at the beach, but good ole Myrtle Beach beach music.  I couldn’t tell you what exactly makes it “beach music”, but I know it when I hear it.  The Tams, Chairman of the Board, The Platters, The Embers, they make beach music.  So, in no particular order, my 10 favorite beach music songs:

1.  I Love Beach Music by The Embers

2.  Summertime’s Calling Me by The Catalinas

3.  Stagger Lee by Lloyd Price – Ever since the movie Shag, it’s been one of my faves!

4.  Carolina Girls by General Johnson and the Chairman of the Board

5.  Myrtle Beach Days by the Fantastic Shakers

6.  Rainy Day Bells by The Globetrotters

7.  Up On the Roof by The Drifters

8.  Across the Street by Lenny O’Henry

9.  Build Me Up Buttercup by the Foundations

10.  Under the Boardwalk by the Drifters

If you know any of these, kudos for you!  There’s not many of us, especially in New England.  If you don’t know any of these songs, I invite to you find them in iTunes!  Enjoy!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Beverly
    Jul 19, 2011 @ 15:25:28

    We have beach music above the Mason Dixon line, too, you know! I love Under the Boardwalk!

    Reply

    • ktbird8
      Jul 19, 2011 @ 15:43:08

      Yes, but is it on the radio? I can’t seem to find a station that plays beach music up here and more than once I’ve gotten a funny look for saying that I wanted to hear some shagging music. Austin Powers totally ruined that phrase!

      Reply

  2. Beverly
    Jul 21, 2011 @ 10:06:13

    You clearly need Spotify!

    Reply

  3. mk
    Mar 13, 2012 @ 16:10:28

    I’ve heard of #s 9 and 10! Do I win anything?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 2,082 hits
